TRESemme’s Fresh Start Collection – Bang for your Buck!

 

I have a problem when it comes to washing my hair. I have to wash my hair every day or else it will get super oily, slightly smelly, and lack in volume. (Gross!) I’ve been researching online on how to care for my hair so I don’t have to shampoo every day. I came across lots of great articles on different ways to get rid of the oil that seems to consistently envelope my hair. One article suggested that normal baby powder can do the trick. All you have to do is to shake the baby powder on to your hair, leave it on for a minute or two, then comb it out. In my case, the baby powder is highly visible with my black hair. I had to blow dry it out while combing. This method worked well but I found that I had to re-powder my hair after a 3 to 4 hours. So, my search continues!

I went to my local Shoppers Drug Mart and found the Tresemmé Fresh Start Collection! I bought both the Waterless Foam Shampoo for Dry/Curly to Normal Hair and the Dry Shampoo for Oily/Straight to Normal Hair. There’s also a Refreshing Mist in this collection but I decided to pass on this product.

Both are really easy to use. For the Waterless Foam Shampoo, all you have to do is pump the product into your hand and spread the product throughout your hair. Afterwards, use a towel and pat your hair to remove the excess product, dirt, or oil. For the Dry Shampoo, shake the can before you use it. I think this is to make sure that the product is well mixed before you spray it in your hair.  After shaking, hold the can about 8-12 inches away from your head and start spraying!  (Be careful to not get the product in your eyes!)  Make sure you leave the product in for 1-2 minutes before you brush out your hair.

• Availablity: Shoppers Drug Mart, London Drugs, and other drugstore locations

Price: 10/10

I bought both products for $4 (CAD) each!

Packaging: 7/10

Both products come in the standard Tresemmé packaging.  Very sleek looking but nothing to be too note-worthy for a drugstore brand.  The Waterless Foam Shampoo canister is plastic and therefore has a matte finish look.  The Dry Shampoo is in a metal container somewhat like a hairspray canister.

Ease of Use: 9/10

Both products are very easy to use.  The instructions are straight-forward to carry out.

Lasting Power: 8/10

The Waterless Foam Shampoo lasted me about 4 hours before I had to put more product in my hair.  I guess my hair is way too oily for this type of shampoo.  However, the Dry Shampoo lasted me a little longer at about 6 hours.

Quality: 9/10

The product does what it says it does!  Can’t beat that!  It leaves your hair smelling fresh with a hint of citrus.  Most importantly, my hair looks clean without washing it.

Grade: A

For the price point, I think everyone should try the Tresemmé Fresh Start Collection.  It’s easy to use, easy to find, and cheap!

Leave a Reply

